Finalists announced for 2017 Victorian Sport Awards


The Victorian Sport Awards is the night of nights for the Victorian sporting community, celebrating participants, coaches and the organisers and volunteers behind the scenes from all levels of sport in Victoria.

Each year the Victorian Sport Awards will honour those who have made an outstanding contribution to sport in Victoria as individual or team athletes, coaches, administrators and volunteers from both metropolitan and regional areas in Victoria.

Entrants in the Awards are nominated by friends, family, teammates, club members or their local community because of their outstanding contribution to sport and active recreation.

Every year, the Victorian Sport Awards receives hundreds of nominations which aim to recognise and celebrate those members of our Victorian community and the 2017 Victorian Sport Awards was no exception.

The quality and breadth of the nominations received makes selecting the finalists a difficult endeavour, which is why the 2017 Victorian Sport Awards sought the help of 32 highly qualified Victorian sports people to constitute the judging panels charged with picking the finalists across the 18 categories.

Judges include people from various diverse sporting groups and roles including:

  • Rosie King – Rosie is the CEO of Netball Victoria and a Director of the Australian Paralympic Committee
  • Steve Moneghetti AM, himself a winner of the 1989 and 1995 Male Athlete of the Year and 2001 Outstanding Contribution to Sport Awards
  • David Parkin, a former AFL player and four-time AFL premiership coach
  • Lindsay Gaze, who played basketball for Australia at three Olympics between 1960 and 1968 and coached the Australian basketball team at four Olympics between 1972 and 1984

Minister for Sport, John Eren proudly says;

“Victoria lives and breathes sport ‐ and we produce some of the most passionate and elite talent on the planet.”

“That’s why we’re proud to honour our selfless and dedicated individuals, clubs and organisations that step up to support their communities.”

Vicsport Interim CEO Michael Sholly says;

“The Victorian Sport Awards is a highlight event on the Victorian sporting calendar and Vicsport is pleased to join in the celebration of recognising the wonderful achievements of our home grown sporting heroes, from community and grassroots to the elite level”.

The Victorian Sport Awards are presented by the State Government of Victoria and Vicsport.

Held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Victorian Sport Awards can be attended by all entrants, nominees, family, friends, sporting organisations and clubs to celebrate the successes of community sport in Victoria.

Last year’s Awards attracted an attendance of 500 people including many of Victoria’s premier athletes and grassroots heroes.

Highlights of the night included an emotional speech from Kevin Sheedy OAM upon receiving the Victorian Government Outstanding Contribution to Sport Award and 2016 Rio Olympic Champion Rower Kim Brennan AM and swimmer Mack Horton OAM, awarded the 2016 Victorian Female and Male Athletes of the Year Award.

Event details:

Wednesday 14 March, 2018

Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre

6pm – 10pm

6pm – 6.45pm – Refreshments, canapes and food stations
6.45pm – 9.30pm – Awards ceremony
9.30pm – 10pm – Post-event networking and dessert bar

To purchase tickets, please contact Vicsport on 03 9698 8100 or email or visit

The Awards are a night that recognises and celebrates the achievements of our home grown sporting heroes and legends and all those who help them get there.

Finalists in all categories are as follows:

Victorian Coach of the Year

  • Craig Bellamy – Melbourne Storm
  • Damian Hardwick – Richmond Football Club
  • Craig Jackson – Swimming
  • Kateryna Logachova – Rhythmic Gymnastics

Victorian Community Coach of the Year

  • David Hickman – Basketball
  • Vicky Lee – Tennis
  • Yvonne Porter – Netball
  • Kellie Tait – AAA Sports Ballarat

Victorian Official of the Year

  • Chris Hope – Football (soccer)
  • Brad Mannix – Gymnastics
  • John Roberts – Bowls
  • Damian Van De Berg – Swimming

Victorian Community Official of the Year

  • Muriel Aberline – Swimming
  • Kerryn Cormick – Aerobic Gymnastics
  • Felicity Di Toro – Netball
  • Anna Lewer – Lacrosse

Victorian Team of the Year

  • Commonwealth Bank Victorian Bushrangers
  • Melbourne Storm
  • Melbourne University Blues Women’s Volleyball Team
  • Victorian Vikings Men’s Hockey Team

Victorian Young Team of the Year

  • Victorian 14s State Team – Tennis
  • Victoria 19U Netball Team
  • Victorian Junior Aerodance Team
  • Victorian Western Metros Under 15’s Team

Victorian Male Athlete of the Year

  • Scotty James – Snowboard Halfpipe
  • Dustin Martin – Richmond Football Club
  • John Peers – Tennis
  • Cameron Smith – Melbourne Storm

Victorian Female Athlete of the Year

  • Abbie Burgess – Lacrosse
  • Stephanie Catley – Football (soccer)
  • Britt Cox – Mogul Skiing
  • Amanda Reynolds – PARA Sprint Canoeing

Victorian Young Athlete of the Year

  • Destanee Aiava – Tennis
  • Daniel Cave – Swimming
  • Tess Coady – Snowboard Slopestyle
  • Isis Holt – Para-athletics

Victorian Masters Sport Award

  • Glenn Busby – Tennis
  • Linley Frame – Swimming
  • Marilyn Luck – Tenpin Bowling
  • Allan Wood – Track and Field (Athletics)

Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport

To be announced on the night

Service to Victorian Community Sport

  • Alexander (Sandy) Frame – Swimming
  • Barbara Lewis – Softball
  • Rob McIntyre – Cricket
  • David Stobbard – Tennis

Victorian Young Volunteer of the Year

  • Alana Baldi – Cricket & Special Olympics
  • William Hammersla – Climbing
  • Danielle Johnson – Netball
  • Luqman Latif – Tennis

Victorian Sports Administrator of the Year

  • Dean Anglin – Basketball
  • David Cannizzo – Football and Netball
  • Belinda Kleverlaan – Tennis
  • Steven Reaper – Australian Football League

Victorian Local Government Initiative of the Year

  • Active Maribyrnong Spring into Summer Series
  • Community Pathways Program (Partnership between City of Yarra Youth Services and Melbourne City Football Club)
  • Glen Eira City Council Recreation, Water Play, Open Space
  • Wyndham Sports Strategy 2045

Victorian Outdoor/Active Recreation Initiative of the Year

  • Escaping Your Comfort Zone
  • Geelong Touch (Football) Association
  • Wheel Women

Victorian Sport Development Initiative of the Year

  • “Book a Court” initiative
  • Special Olympics Gymnastics
  • “I Speak Football” program
  • Wheelchair Rugby program

Victorian Community Sporting Club of the Year

  • Boroondara Tennis Centre (“The Centre”)
  • Casey Gymnastics
  • The Itiki Sporting Club
  • Malvern Marlins Masters Swimming Club

Victorian Community Sporting Event of the Year

  • 2017 South West Games
  • Eltham-Dandenong Junior Basketball Tournament
  • SFNL Pride Round
  • Under 11’s Lacrosse Lightning Carnival (hosted by Altona Lacrosse Club)

Related posts